Roasted Tomatillo Salsa.

You know you’re in Wisconsin when…

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

…you’re standing in the check-out line at the grocery store with a bag of tomatillos, cilantro, and jalapeño peppers…

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

And the cashier looks at you all befuddled like, what the heck are these things??

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

Hah, well I guess I understand why they were confused.

I myself am a big proponent of eating local foods.

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

And of course, NONE of the ingredients in this salsa are local, but as a born and raised California girl, sometimes I just need a little Mexican flavor on my scrambled eggs in the morning! You know?

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

This salsa is also fantastic on grilled meats, chicken, and shrimp, and of course, as a side in a Mexican fajita buffet spread.

Plus, it’s a lot easier to make than you think!

Salud,
peaches & cake

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa (Salsa Verde)
Adapted from Cooking Light, March 2003

Printer-friendly version

  • 10 tomatillos (about 1 pound)
  • 1 sweet yellow onion, peeled and quartered
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • ½ of a chopped and seeded jalapeño pepper (I made it palatable for others by only using half of a seeded jalapeno pepper, but turn up the heat a notch by adding the whole thing!)
  1. Place oven rack in the middle position and turn broiler on to high.
  2. To prepare salsa, remove husks and stems from tomatillos. Slice each tomatillo in half. Place tomatillos and onion, cut sides down, on a baking sheet (no need for oil). Broil 8-10 minutes or until tomatillos begin to blacken.
  3. Place tomatillos, onion, cilantro, lime juice, salt, garlic, and chopped jalapeño in a food processor or blender; process until pureed. Pour salsa into a bowl; cool completely.
  4. Serve salsa with grilled chicken, meat, fajitas, or scrambled eggs.

4 responses to “Roasted Tomatillo Salsa.

  1. This sounds wonderful!! We know we would love this!

  2. Jenn

    This is absolutely delicious!!! I made it to take to my parents house tonight, so I left out the cilantro (which my mom hates). I put two jalapenos from our garden (I left the seeds in since we like things spicy) on the baking sheet with the onions and tomatillos (also from our garden). I don’t think I’ve ever had a better green sauce and I love green sauces!! Thank you so much!!!
    ~Jenn

Comment

