Seared Lobster Tails with Asparagus and Red Pepper Sauté

Holy bajeezus.

Seared Lobster Tails with Asparagus and Red Pepper Sauté

I forgot how delicious lobster is.

Seared Lobster Tails with Asparagus and Red Pepper Sauté

I think the last time I ate lobster was two summers ago on my honeymoon in Hawaii, where it cost an arm and a leg. I rarely order it at restaurants because it is so expensive and I’ve never cooked it at home because it’s still fairly pricey at the store (especially when you live in Chicago).

IMG_2672

So when there was a flash sale on lobster tails at my local Whole Foods I knew I had to give it a whirl.

IMG_2673

If you google “how to cook lobster tail” you will find a bazillion different methods to cook and present it. Butttt I do not recommend you do that.

IMG_2674

Honestly, I think the way I cooked it below is the easiest and most practical way to cook lobster tail, especially if you’re not into the whole serving-at-the-table-in-shell idea.

IMG_2675

So, here’s what you do!

Lay the tails flat on a cutting board. Then crack those suckers in half vertically with a super sharp knife. Rinse under cold water and pat dry with a paper towel. Season the meat lightly with salt and pepper. Bring a sauté pan (I used stainless steel) to medium-high heat. Once it’s hot, add butter and swirl to coat. Place the lobster tails meat-side down in the pan and cook for about 5 minutes. Then, manually remove the lobster meat from the shell with a spoon or your (clean) hands, AKA, your best tools in the kitchen!

IMG_2681

I served the lobster atop an asparagus, onion, and bell pepper sauté seasoned with lemon, cilantro and the drippings from the pan, which was freaking delicious. Take note, this meal is very “light” so if you want to bulk it up a little, try adding one diced pre-cooked Mexican chorizo sausage to the vegetable sauté. I think I just may do that next time!

Seared Lobster Tails with Asparagus and Red Pepper Sauté

Give it a try for a date night dinner or if you’re just feeling particularly fancy.

Seared Lobster Tails with Asparagus and Red Pepper Sauté

Cheers,
Meg

Seared Lobster Tails with Asparagus and Red Pepper Sauté
Serves 2

Printer-friendly version

  • 2 Tbsp. butter or clarified butter, divided, plus more for serving if desired
  • 1 Tbsp. minced fresh garlic
  • 1 cup diced sweet onions
  • 1 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1 cup diced asparagus (tough ends discarded)
  • *Optional: 1 pre-cooked Mexican chorizo sausage, diced
  • 1 Tbsp. minced fresh cilantro, plus more for garnish
  • Juice of 1 large lemon, divided
  • 2 (4-oz.) lobster tails
  • Sea salt, to taste
  • Fresh ground pepper, to taste

Heat 1 Tbsp. butter in a wide sauté pan over medium heat and swirl to coat. Add garlic and cook for 30 seconds while stirring. Add diced onions, bell peppers, and asparagus. Season with salt and pepper. (*Optional: Add 1 diced pre-cooked Mexican chorizo sausage to the veggies.) Sauté for 10 minutes or until veggies are tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in cilantro and half of the lemon juice. Season again with salt and pepper. Turn off the heat; transfer mixture to a platter or bowl and cover tightly with foil to keep warm.

Meanwhile, lay lobster tails flat on a cutting board with the shell side facing upward. Using a very sharp, large knife, cut the tail in half lengthwise by driving your knife through the middle of the shell; slice all the way through. Gently rinse the tails under cool water and pat dry with a paper towel. Season the meat side lightly with salt and pepper.

Bring the pan back to medium-high heat. Once it’s hot, add 1 Tbsp. butter and swirl to coat. Place the lobster tails meat-side down in the pan and sear for 5 minutes (the shells should start to turn red). Remove tails from the pan and use a spoon or your (clean) fingers to pull the lobster meat out of the shells. Discard the shells or save for seafood stock.

Place lobster meat on top of veggie sauté. Drizzle all over with drippings from the pan and remaining lemon juice.  Garnish with additional salt, pepper, and cilantro and serve.

*Optional: Serve with extra clarified butter for butter lovers at your table, if desired.

IMG_2678

IMG_2680

19 responses to “Seared Lobster Tails with Asparagus and Red Pepper Sauté

  1. That is a seriously delicious looking meal! I really love lobster – and this one is definitely done right!

    • Meg

      Thank you! It was definitely as serious as you get when it comes to deliciousness. I only wish I had purchased more! (Hubby wanted more of it!)

      On Wed, Apr 24, 2013 at 1:18 PM, peaches & cake

      • Cheers to that! I could eat seafood all day and not get sick of it! My only problem with seafood is that I genuinely don’t like it as leftovers… Which means I get to gobble it all up fresh!!!

        As a side note: Grass-fed butter has a different taste, and I find I like it a LOT more on seafood than the regular stuff.

      • Meg

        I totally agree! It is so much more flavorful and healthy too. I didn’t specify because I didn’t want to “get all paleo” on people but I used clarified grass-fed butter for this recipe (can’t remember the brand name but it was from Whole Foods), and it was YUM-O.

        On Wed, Apr 24, 2013 at 1:24 PM, peaches & cake

      • Score!! I have to say, if it was just the “healthy” alternative, I’m not sure I would have switched… But that grass-fed actually tastes a lot better is what really got me! The same goes for the meat.
        I started to wonder what else I had been getting wrong all these years… 🙂

      • Meg

        Can you please get on the phone and tell that to my husband so he can stop complaining about our grocery bills? Hahahaha it’s just such a better choice, and I too am discovering many things I did wrong in years past (whomp whomp). Anyway, I’d rather have grass-fed meat and butter than new shoes! 🙂

        On Wed, Apr 24, 2013 at 1:27 PM, peaches & cake

      • It’s a no-brainer for me and my wife. We don’t particularly love the grocery bills – but we’re all on board for the better taste, and the reduced doctor’s bills!! That’s for now and in the future..

  2. Looks delicious!! Best part of seafood is that it cook so quickly!! Thanks for sharing

  3. This looks SO good and a perfect date night dinner if we want to stay in. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Wow, you’ve got me craving for some lobster now!
    Thanks for dropping by my site. I will definitely check out your other paleo recipe posts and follow you on my IG 🙂

    • Meg

      Wow thanks so much! Really appreciate it. I am craving lobster again too. Just have to wait for it to go on sale again!

      On Thu, Apr 25, 2013 at 10:30 AM, peaches & cake

  5. Lobster – oh yum! This looks so good!

  6. That lobster looks divine! Looks like such a great recipe. 🙂

    Looking forward to more posts!

  7. saltysweetsour

    This looks lovely! I never think to cook lobster at home (because it’s pricey), but this sounds delicious!

Comment

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

