maple bacon-wrapped dates.

In honor of my birthday I am sharing a recipe with you that’s so good I could stick a candle in it.

Nellie wants a piece!!

Nellie wants a piece!!

OK I know, I know that there are like nine bazillion recipes like this on the Internet.

Maple Bacon-Wrapped Dates

But this is my blog and this is how I did it and it was fantastic so I must share with you!

IMG_2250

Mr. Peaches and I served these at a tapas-themed dinner a while back with another couple and we devoured each and every last one. I only wish I had made more!

IMG_2284

These are perfect for any cocktail hour, especially when served with a Spanish Rioja or Tempranillo.

IMG_2287

Speaking of tapas and wine, I’m off to Spain with my familia tomorrow for a much-needed getaway, so be sure to follow my adventures on Instagram and Twitter!

IMG_2289

hasta luego,
peaches & cake

Maple Bacon-Wrapped Dates
Makes 18 servings (*Scale the ingredients up or down as necessary)

Printer-friendly version

Ingredients

  • 18 pitted best-quality Medjool dates (I got mine from the organic bulk section at Whole Foods)
  • 9 slices best-quality bacon, cut in half crosswise (I used Wellshire Black Forest Dry Rubbed Salt Cured Bacon from Whole Foods)
  • 1 Tbsp. best-quality maple syrup (get the good stuff people!)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450⁰F. Line a baking sheet with foil. Lay a date on top of each bacon slice; wrap to enclose; transfer to the baking sheet. Continue with remaining dates.
  2. Bake for about 25 minutes or until bacon is crisp, flipping each wrapped date after about 10 minutes. Transfer wrapped dates to paper towels or a wire rack to drain. Using a pastry brush or spoon, glaze with 1 Tbsp. maple syrup or more as needed. Transfer to a serving platter. Serve with cocktail skewers or toothpicks.

IMG_2293

6 responses to “maple bacon-wrapped dates.

  1. I’ve been seeing bacon wrapped dates all over the internet lately. Yours sound especially delicious with the addition of maple. I’m pretty sure I need to try these asap!

  2. I’d be happy attending a party that ONLY had these!! 🙂 Have a blast in Spain!!!!

  3. Thais

    I guess everything does “go around, come around!” I have a recipe I adapted 30+ years ago that has the date stuffed with a pecan prior to wrapping w/ bacon, served in a ginger sauce…yummy, yummy & never one left over!

Comment

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

