what I (actually) eat for lunch every day.

This blog is an extension of my love to create delicious food that is suitable for serving a crowd, and is no reflection of what I actually eat every day.

Busy Girl Salad

Though I WISH I could eat cake, pie, cupcakes, and ice cream every day, the reality is a lot more like the pictures you see here.

Busy Girl Salad

Here’s a super-quick lunch idea for busy guys and gals on the go using wild-caught canned salmon or tuna (available at grocery stores like Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s), which provides an easy, no-cook, and delicious protein boost to your salad.

The key is to chop everything up into little pieces using a sturdy pair of kitchen shears.

Busy Girl Salad

And for dessert, I like to finish it off with a square or two of dark chocolate!

Busy Girl Salad

xoxo,
peaches & cake

The Meg Salad
Serves 1

Printer-friendly version

2 large handfuls organic spinach or mixed greens

1-2 medium carrots, sliced thin or shredded in a box grater

1/3 – 1/2 medium avocado

3-4 oz. canned wild salmon, drained (or substitute wild canned tuna)

Other add-ins: I also like to add sliced cherry tomatoes, chopped zucchini, and a tablespoon of ground flaxseed if I feel like it/when I have it on hand.

Good-quality balsamic vinegar

Extra-virgin olive oil

Fresh ground pepper

Add the spinach/greens, carrots, avocado, and salmon to a medium mixing bowl. Add a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, a drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil, and a few shakes of fresh ground pepper. Chop the salad using a good-quality pair of kitchen shears, turning the bowl around in a circle as you go with your other hand. Transfer to a salad bowl and season with extra balsamic vinegar and black pepper, if desired.

5 responses to “what I (actually) eat for lunch every day.

  1. This looks like the perfect healthy salad! I love that everything is chopped 🙂

    • Meg

      No I have not tried them but I have seen them at the WS store and I WANT them! When you’re chopping salads every day they’re a worthy investment. Thanks for commenting!

  2. This looks similar to a lot of quick lunches I tend to throw together to bring to work! Canned tuna, canned salmon and sometimes the deboned deskinned sardines in olive oil at TJ’s are such an easy/fast way to add protein (and omega 3s) to your lunch.

    • Meg

      I have not tried sardines yet (I know, eek!) but I KNOW they are a superfood and everything I read tells me to eat them. I think I’m just going to have to suck it up and do it! Thanks for commenting!

Comment

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

