sweet potato and black bean pizza.

I think I could write a post entitled “Recipe Disasters of 2012.”

I have had so many flops in the kitchen recently it’s laughable.

I’m talking rock-hard ice cream, burnt-to-the-crisp bread and cookies, bland and tough pork, even cheese on fire in the oven! (My condo was like a rave with a fog machine.)

But I have to remind myself that if I’m not failing then I’m not trying hard enough.

…Or at least that’s how I make myself feel better when I end up tossing an entire roast of meat into the trash (which is so so sad).

Thankfully this pizza was not one of those disasters.

In fact it was a hit, and I plan to add to my regular vegetarian meal repertoire.

You won’t even miss the meat, because the sweet potatoes and black beans provide enough bulk to the pizza to fill you up.

The key is to spread sour cream on top, which adds a little tanginess and moisture to an otherwise “dry” piece of pizza.

Good luck trying new things in the kitchen, and enjoy!

Oh and P.S.! While I love my family’s pizza crust recipe I tried a new thinner-crust recipe this time and we are obsessed! Rustic and crispy due to the use of honey and so so good.

xoxo,
peaches and cake

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Pizza
Inspired by a quesadilla recipe from Cabot Creamery
Makes 2 pizzas

Printer-friendly version

1 recipe homemade pizza dough
1 14.5 oz. can black beans
8 scallions, white part only, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon olive oil
2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
2 large roasted red bell peppers from a jar, diced
About 1 cup shredded reduced-fat white cheddar cheese (I used Cabot)
¼ cup minced fresh cilantro
reduced-fat sour cream, for serving
hot sauce, for serving (optional)
cornmeal, for dusting pizza peel

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F with a pizza stone on the center rack for at least 30 minutes.

2. Heat a nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the diced sweet potatoes and sauté until cooked and lightly browned on edges, about 15 minutes, tossing occasionally.

3. In a skillet or sauce pan over medium heat, combine half of the scallions, garlic and oil; cook, stirring, until softened, 2 to 3 minutes. Add beans and bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for a few minutes. Transfer beans to a bowl and mash with a potato masher.

5. Separate dough into two balls, roll into a circle and carefully transfer 1 circle to a pizza peel dusted with cornmeal (or a pizza pan). Spread half of bean mixture over dough, followed by half of sweet potatoes, half of red bell pepper, and half of cheese. Tuck the edges of the dough in to make a neat crust, if desired.

6.  Shimmy pizza onto a pizza stone and cook for about 15 minutes until edges are lightly golden brown and cheese is melted. Sprinkle with half of the minced fresh cilantro and half of the rest of the minced scallions. Slice into wedges. Repeat to make a second pizza.

7. Serve topped with sour cream and hot sauce, if desired.

9 responses to “sweet potato and black bean pizza.

  1. Hey Meg!
    I adore sweet potatoes and black beans together. I regularly use them (along with cinnamon+cumin + green peppers/whatever other veggies I feel like) as a mean quesadilla filling, but I can’t wait to try on a pizza to switch it up–and yes, sour cream is a MUST. Love the post. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Meg, funny post! Keep on keeping on…the pizza looks like a winner!
    Tina

  3. This looks delicious! I would love to be able to make this! x

    XO, Linda
    The Style Moodboard

  4. Awww I feel like kitchen fails teach us a lot, so they’re ALL worth it!! This looks like one major success! LOVE that you put sweet potatoes on a pizza!

    Sues

  5. Looks sooo amazing! You’re doing so fabulous with this blog— love how often you post and the recipes you come up with! love it!

Comment

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

