cappuccino chip ice cream.

I’ve been such an ice cream method cheater recently.

Sometimes I like using a custard base, sometimes I like using a cornstarch base. It just depends on how I’m feeling.

I have tried making some sort of version of coffee/cappuccino ice cream three times now with various methods and failed miserably until this batch.

I know there are purists out there that advocate steeping the milk in whole coffee beans, which I proceeded to do once, but then the ice cream actually TASTES like coffee.

I mean I like coffee, but gross. I don’t want my ice cream to actually taste like my morning cup of joe. Eew.

I want it to taste like a sweet creamy vanilla-y treat with a light scent of a nutty espresso and laced with flakes of chocolate. Yesss that sounds muuuch better.

So I found that adding just a wee bit of instant espresso powder gives it the perfect amount of coffee flavor without being overwhelming.

So here ya go folks.

Oh and P.S. it’s man-approved, meaning Mr. Peaches & Cake devoured four scoops of it on the couch yesterday. Yessss.

xoxo,
peaches & cake

Cappuccino Chip Ice Cream
Adapted from my butter pecan ice cream
*Makes six cups ice cream, about twelve ½ cup servings.

Printer-friendly version

6 egg yolks

1 ¼ cups granulated sugar or granular sweetener for ice cream (such as Whey Low), or a combination of both

3 cups half-and-half

1 cup whipping cream

1 whole vanilla bean,  split lengthwise, scraped,  and seeds reserved

1 ½ tsp. instant espresso powder (regular is fine because this is not much caffeine)

2 small pinches salt

¼ cup shaved semisweet chocolate baking bar (Lindt or Ghirardelli)

Instructions:

Crack the eggs and discard the whites (or save for another use), reserving the yolks. Whisk the egg yolks with a fork. Set aside.

Combine the half-and-half and whipping cream with the sugar in a good-quality saucepan over medium heat, and heat until it comes to a simmer.

Lower the heat. Add a few scoopfuls of the simmering liquid to the egg mixture to temper the eggs, then slowly pour the warmed egg mixture into the saucepan. Using a whisk, stir the mixture constantly while keeping the custard at a low simmer, until it is thick enough to coat the back of the spoon and leaves a clear trail when a finger is drawn through it, (about 170 to 175°F on an instant-read thermometer), about 6 minutes. Do not allow the custard to boil.

Remove from heat. Stir in vanilla bean paste, instant espresso powder, and two small pinches of salt.

Cover and let cool completely in the fridge, about 6 hours or overnight. Make sure the bowl of your ice cream maker is also in the freezer at the coldest setting at this time.

Allow the machine to start running before you pour in the batter. Pour ice cream mixture into the running ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Add the shaved chocolate during the last minute of freezing (once the ice cream is beginning to freeze and hold a shape).

Pack the ice cream into an airtight plastic or glass container with a rubber spatula. Freeze until firm, about 6 hours.

*Note: This recipe yields six cups of ice cream, so if you make the entire recipe, use a traditional bucket-style freezer. Halve the recipe if you use a countertop model; they typically have a smaller capacity.

7 responses to “cappuccino chip ice cream.

  1. This ice cream is SO beautiful and perfectly frozen! I’ve had coffee ice cream on my list for a while now, but now I might need to do cappuccino instead. Though I think I WOULD like ice cream that tastes like my morning coffee 🙂

    Sues

  2. valeriebrunmeier

    That looks unbelievable! So pure and delicious. I LOVE coffee ice cream 🙂

  3. I HAVE to try this recipe. Looks so good!

  4. Yummy! It’s fun to see someone making their own ice cream! We did it when I was growing up all the time.. Thanks for sharing your recipe 🙂

Comment

