cinnamon sugar donut muffins.

I don’t know if I’ve told you about my co-workers yet.

But pretty much, they’re awesome.

Seriously I would not survive without these girls — they keep me constantly challenged and entertained and caffeinated, and fed too.

But I did tell you that we are really serious about birthdays at my office.

So for my birthday last week, one of my co-workers made me these donut muffins (!!) because she had obviously made them for the office before and I obviously obsessed over them and nagged her for the recipe for days.

I mean, they taste like real donuts!

And they’re mini!

How awesome is that?!

Basically this girl is the epitome of a successful, working domestic goddess and I just want to copy anything and everything she does.

And I’m really glad I copied her go-to brunch recipe.

They’re perfect little treats that you can just pop into your mouth.

And they totally hit the “sweet spot.”

When you’re serving brunch, I think it’s lovely to have a combination of one or two “savory spot” items such as bacon and scrambled eggs (with plenty of hot sauce, of course) with one or two “sweet spot” items such as a baked good and fresh fruit or a smoothie.

That way, everyone’s happy.

These were a huge hit at my last two brunches, so it’s really a crime not to share the recipe with you!

Enjoy!

xoxo,
peaches and cake

Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins
Recipe from Kathleen E., Chicago, Illinois
Makes 20-22 mini-muffins

Printer-friendly version

  • ½ c. granulated sugar
  • ¼ c. margarine, melted (I used tub Smart Balance)
  • ¾ tsp. ground nutmeg (¾ tsp. makes them taste like real donuts, but use ½ tsp. if you prefer a less spiced muffin.)
  • ½ c. milk (skim is fine)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 c. all-purpose flour

Topping:

  • ¼ c. margarine, melted
  • ½ c. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375˚F. Grease a mini-muffin cup pan with cooking spray.

Mix the sugar, margarine (melted), and nutmeg in a large bowl. Stir in the milk, then mix in the baking powder and flour until just combined. Do not overmix. Use a cookie scooper to distribute among greased mini-muffin cups until half to three-quarters full.

Bake in the preheated oven until the tops are lightly golden, about 13-15 minutes, rotating once during baking.

While muffins are baking, place ¼ c. of melted margarine in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix together ½ c. of sugar with 1 tsp. cinnamon.

Remove muffins from their cups, dip each muffin in the melted margarine, then roll in the cinnamon-sugar mixture.

Let cool and serve.

3 responses to “cinnamon sugar donut muffins.

  1. These look incredible! I’ve Evernoted them to try very soon. Thanks for this post!

Comment

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

