white chocolate chip craisin cookies.

I’m really obsessed with cookies, if you didn’t notice already.

Cookies are like snacks in both my family’s home and my new home.

I am constantly “refilling” cookie trays to feed countless numbers of hungry bellies (did I ever mention that I have six siblings?)

These white chocolate chip craisin cookies are one of Mr. Peaches’ favorites.

“I’ll take two, please!” he cries as he smells them from the living room.

It always makes me grin.

If you want to be really savvy, make a double batch of the recipe (as you’ll probably notice that I’ve done here) and bake half of the dough, freezing the rest in wax paper. Thaw and bake the next time you need an emergency dessert for an impromptu gathering.

This batter is actually my mom’s classic chocolate chip cookie dough with substitutions for the mix-ins. Another favorite variation of mine is to sub in Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Chips and 1 cup of toasted chopped pecans.

Dee-lish.

I must note, it is muy importante to use Ghirardelli white chocolate chips in this particular recipe.

Hershey’s is good too, but just don’t use the Nestle white chocolate chips – I think they taste a little off. (You can count on Nestle for their semi-sweet chocolate chips though.)

A little tip to ensure the cookies don’t fall flat: stick the dough in the fridge to cool before baking (or scoop the dough and stick the entire baking sheet in the fridge).

If you bake the cookies while the dough is still warm, your cookies will come out like pancakes.

You’ll also notice that the more you open your oven, the cooler your oven gets and the longer the bake time becomes, so just keep an eye on them.

You want them to be lightly golden all over the top — not too white and not too brown.

Hope your day is terrific!

xoxo,
peaches and cake

White Chocolate Chip Craisin Cookies
Makes 4 dozen cookies

Printer-friendly version

  • 2 ½ cups + 1 Tbsp. all-purpose flour (if using conventional oven. If using convection oven, subtract by 1 Tbsp.)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) salted Land O’ Lakes butter, softened
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups (11 oz.) Ghirardelli Classic White Chocolate Chips
  • 1 cup (5 oz.) Craisins (Original Flavor)
  • parchment paper (for baking)

Before baking, take butter out of fridge and let come to room temperature.

Preheat oven to 375 ˚F.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl.

Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy.

Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Gradually beat in flour mixture.

Stir in white chocolate chips and Craisins.

Stick the bowl of dough in the fridge and let cool for at least 15 minutes. (At this point, the dough may be wrapped in wax paper and refrigerated or frozen until ready to bake.)

Meanwhile, line your baking sheets with parchment paper.

Remove dough from the fridge and use a cookie scooper to drop by rounded tablespoons onto baking sheets.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, rotating pans once or twice during baking. The more you open your oven, the cooler it will get and the longer the bake time will become, so keep an eye on the cookies to make sure you don’t underbake or overbake them. You want them to be light golden brown all over – not too white and not too brown.

Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

Store leftovers in airtight containers or Ziploc bags in the freezer.

Optional variations:

*For Milk Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies: Substitute the chips for Ghirardelli or Hershey’s milk chocolate chips, and the Craisins for 1 cup of chopped pecans that have been lightly toasted in a non-stick pan.

9 responses to “white chocolate chip craisin cookies.

  1. Oh my gosh! I am making these ASAP! Loving your blog and all your posts! Such amazing recipes!
    http://www.fashionifancy.com

  2. Emily

    I am loving your blog and the pictures are really fabulous! I want to eat a cookie right now!!

    • Meg

      Thanks Emily! Do you have cooking capabilities at your place in Thailand? If not, I’m sure the food you’re buying out there is amazing though!

      • Emily

        I only really have a refrigerator in my room, so I buy most of my dinners from the amazingly delicious street vendors! I am learning how to carve decorative shapes out of fruits and vegetables, though. Who knew a cucumber could be served on a side of Pad Thai as a gorgeous edible “flower” 🙂 Keep the recipes coming, I love reading them and especially looking at the pictures, and I can’t wait to bake lots and lots of cookies when I come home (and then eat them!)

  3. I’m also a big fan of white choc + craisins, not only in cookies, but muffins, too. Love the big tin at the end! Where did you get it?

  4. Meg

    It’s a vintage collectible tin from Currier and Ives that I think my mom found at an antique store in Wisconsin. You can find tons of them on eBay! It’s the perfect shape and size for protecting a batch of cookies! (And for sending care packages in the mail!)

  5. Angie

    Hey Meg! I just bought white choc chips and craisins today so I could make these. I can’t wait..they look delicious!

Comment

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

