mom-inspired & man-approved chocolate crinkle cookies.

Hi friends!

Since it’s the beginning of December, I thought I’d start out this blog with a bit of holiday cheer.

My mom always makes a beautiful array of cookies around the holidays. Not those weird, peanut butter drops or tree-shaped meringues that no one really likes. No, instead she bakes a TON of the classics. We’re talking chocolate chips, snickerdoodles, molasses, gingerbread boys, sugar cookies, and chocolate crinkles.

Cookies are great because you can make a ton of them all at once, freeze them, and have them on hand whenever a storm of hungry boys come marching over (which is quite often around my house!)

I love how my mom would serve them in perfect little rows, with three to five kinds of cookies on each tray. To make her presentation feel a little more “holiday,” she would serve them on top of large wooden monkeypod trays wrapped in gold foil.

There’s just something about cookies that make you feel more welcome in a home. They’re great party favors too. Maybe you’re too full for cookies after that yummy Christmas or Hanukkah dinner. But tomorrow….is another story.

Just have a bunch of sandwich-size Ziploc bags on hand, and send your guests home with a little home-baked goodness. They will appreciate it!

I think I have (innocently) activated Mr. Peaches and Cake’s sweet tooth. Since being with me, he has a much greater affinity for all things crunchy and sweet.

I love it when he steals these out of the freezer, dunks them into milk, and then moans “Mmm!”. He catches my eye…”Oh, sorry…can I have these?”  he mutters through a mouthful of cookies. Haha, well OF COURSE you can! I mean really, why else do I spend hours in the kitchen covering myself in confectioners’ sugar other than to fill my hubby’s belly? The man has lightning-speed metabolism — I’d do anything in my power to feed him more!

These are great holiday office gifts too. Just put 3-5 in cellophane treat bags (I like the ones made by Wilton), secure with a ribbon or gold twist tie, and drop them in your co-workers’ mailboxes. A sweet surprise! I’ll have to write a post about cookie-gifting soon.

In the meantime, freeze extras in gallon-sized Ziploc bags, and separate layers with sheets of wax paper. Then watch them slowly disappear from the freezer…

Chocolate Crinkles
Recipe adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book
Makes about 5 dozen cookies, more or less, depending on how big you roll them. For a gift-giving affair, double the recipe.

Printer-friendly version

  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • 4 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate (Baker’s is fine)
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (Gold Medal if possible), sifted
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup powdered sugar

Melt chocolate in a high quality saucepan or double boiler, or very carefully in the microwave. Be careful not to burn. Let cool.

Mix oil, chocolate, granulated sugar and vanilla. Blend in eggs, one at a time, until well mixed.

Stir in flour, baking powder and salt. Cover; refrigerate at least 3 hours or overnight.

Heat oven to 350°F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper and grease with shortening or cooking spray.

Pick up about 2 teaspoons of dough at a time and shape into balls. Roll around in the powdered sugar to coat. Make sure you coat well.

Place about 1-2 inches apart on cookie sheets.

Bake about 13 minutes or until almost no imprint remains when touched lightly in center. This will vary depending on the heat of your oven.

Let cool and serve. Freeze extras, using wax paper to separate layers of cookies.

Serve with a large glass of cold milk!

xoxo,
P&C

Cooking Light Bloggers' Connection Member Badge

4 responses to “mom-inspired & man-approved chocolate crinkle cookies.

  1. Tracey

    Meg, You are your mother’s child! I love your blog and your witty comments. I have to make 4 dozen cookies for Girls’ Night at Michelle Rosen’s, so guess what I’m going to make? xoxo, Tracey

  2. I’ve been meaning to make these for a long time, but I’m bookmarking this now in hopes of making your version soon! Sounds like a lot of sugar, though. How much do you think I could successfully cut?

    • Meg

      Hi Tali! Thanks for your comment. I know, these cookies are so naughty aren’t they? They are indeed sweet, so you may be able to get away with reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. But probably not more than that, since the chocolate is unsweetened. Let me know how it goes! -Meg

Comment

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

